Monday, April 5, 2010

For Comparison's Sake:

Just for old times sake, we thought we'd look at the Huntington & Coonelly teams from 2008 to today after they broke camp.

Here's your 2010 Pittsburgh Pirates:

Pitchers (12) : DJ Carrasco, Brendan Donnelly, Octavio Dotel, Zach Duke, Javier Lopez, Paul Maholm, Daniel McCutchen, Evan Meek, Charlie Morton, Ross Ohlendorf, Hayden Penn, and Jack Taschner.

Catchers (2) : Ryan Doumit and Jason Jaramillo.

Infielders (6) : Ronny Cedeno, Jeff Clement, Bobby Crosby, Aki Iwamura, Andy LaRoche, and Delwyn Young.

Outfielders (5) : Ryan Church, Garrett Jones, Andrew McCutchen, Lastings Milledge, and John Raynor.

Here's your 2009 Pittsburgh Pirates:

Pitchers (12) : Sean Burnett, Matt Capps, Jesse Chavez, Zach Duke, John Grabow, Craig Hansen, Jeff Karstens, Paul Maholm, Ian Snell, Ross Ohlendorf, Donnie Veal, and Tyler Yates.

Catchers (2) : Ryan Doumit and Jason Jarmillo.

Infielders (7) : Luis Cruz, Eric Hinske, Adam LaRoche, Andy LaRoche, Freddy Sanchez, Ramon Vazquez, and Jack Wilson.

Outfielders (4) : Nate McLouth, Craig Monroe, Nyjer Morgan, and Brandon Moss.

And finally, here's your 2008 Pittsburgh Pirates:

Pitchers (12) : Matt Capps, Zach Duke, Phil Dumatrait, John Grabow, Tom Gorzelanny, Paul Maholm, Damaso Marte, Evan Meek, Matt Morris, Franquelis Osoria, Ian Snell, and Tyler Yates.

Catchers (2) : Ryan Doumit and Ronny Paulino.

Infielders (7) : Jose Bautista, Chris Gomez, Adam LaRoche, Doug Mientkiewicz, Luis Rivas, Freddy Sanchez, and Jack Wilson.

Outfielders (4) : Jason Bay, Nate McLouth, Nyjer Morgan, and Xavier Nady.

2010 Starting Lineup:

1. Aki Iwamura, 2B
2. Andrew McCutchen, CF
3. Garrett Jones, RF
4. Ryan Doumit, C
5. Lastings Milledge, LF
6. Jeff Clement, 1B
7. Andy LaRoche, 3B
8. Zach Duke, P
9. Ronny Cedeno, SS

2009 Starting Lineup:

1. Nyjer Morgan, LF
2. Freddy Sanchez, 2B
3. Nate McLouth, CF
4. Ryan Doumit, C
5. Adam LaRoche, 1B
6. Andy LaRoche, 3B
7. Brandon Moss, RF
8. Jack Wilson, SS
9. Paul Maholm, P

2008 Opening Day Lineup:

1. Nate McLouth, CF
2. Freddy Sanchez, 2b
3. Jason Bay, LF
4. Adam LaRoche, 1B
5. Xavier Nady, RF
6. Ryan Doumit, C
7. Jose Bautista, 3B
8. Jack Wilson, SS
9. Ian Snell, P

Six of the 25-man roster players are the same from last year; only three remain from 2008. Two of the 2010 lineup are repeaters from 2009; Doumit is the only man standing from 2008. One thing for sure: the Pirates do make money on scorecards.

No comments: