Tuesday, November 5, 2013

BBWAA Nominees, Lloyd Lands a Gig, Notes...

The Bucs have a horse in the MVP and Manager of the Year races this year. The award announcements: Rookies, 11/11; Managers, 11/12; Cy Youngs, 11/13 and MVPs, 11/14 on the MLB Network at 6 PM...

  •  Andrew McCutchen is a Baseball Writer's NL MVP finalist, along with 1B Paul Goldschmidt of the Diamondbacks and C Yadier Molina of the Cards. The last Bucco MVP was Barry Bonds in 1992 (also in 1990).
  •  The BBWAA's NL Manager of the Year finalists are Clint Hurdle, Don Mattingly (Dodgers) and Fredi Gonzalez (Braves). The last Pirate manager to win the MOY was Jim Leyland in 1992.
  • Gerrit Cole didn't make the cut for the Baseball Writers NL Rookie of the Year. The finalists are Jose Fernandez (Marlins); Shelby Miller (Cardinals) and Yasiel Puig (Dodgers). Pittsburgh was also, not too surprisingly, cut out of Cy Young consideration. The nominees were Clayton Kershaw (Dodgers), Adam Wainwright (Cardinals) and Jose Fernandez (Marlins).
  • The Pirates are the second most active team on the trade market since 2003 with 138 transactions, per Baseball Nation's Grant Bisbee. Their most frequent trade partners during that span were the Red Sox and Indians.
  • Andy LaRoche signed back up with Toronto, inking a minor league deal with an invite to camp.
  • Lloyd McClendon did land on his feet. As confirmed by CBS Sports Jon Heyman, he'll take Eric Wedge's gig at Seattle. McClendon last managed in 2005 with the Pirates, where in five seasons, he went 336-446 (.430).

No comments: