Sunday, September 18, 2016

9/18 TRS-PNC Era: Team of the Century, Shootout, BB's 30th & More

  • 1971 - The Bucs clinched at least a tie for the Eastern Division title (they sewed it up two games later) with a 4-0 win against the New York Mets at TRS. Richie Zisk smacked his first career home run to drive in a pair of runs, and Dave Cash’s two-bagger plated the other two. Steve Blass tossed a two-hitter for the win.
  • 1979 - The Pirates scored three times in the first inning against the Expos at Olympic Stadium, then laid goose eggs for nine frames before finally solving Montreal pitching in the eleventh to pull out a 5-3 victory. Willie Stargell had the game deciding blow, a two run homer in extras to win the game for Grant Jackson.
Captain Willie 1979 Hostess
  • 1987 - In a wild west shootout at TRS that took over 3-½ hours to play, the Pirates outhit the Mets to take a 10-9 victory. Mike Diaz went 4-for-5 with a 2B, 3B and four RBI, Junior Ortiz knocked in a pair, Felix Fermin had three hits and John Cangelosi homered, providing enough firepower for John Smiley to get the win in relief of Brian Fisher, with Jim Gott closing it out.
  • 1992 - Barry Bonds hit his 30th homer of the season off Philadelphia's Terry Mulholland in the Pirates' 5-2 win at Veteran’s Stadium. Bonds became the fifth MLB player to date with a pair of 30 HR‚ 30 stolen-bases seasons. The others were his dad Bobby‚ Willie Mays‚ Howard Johnson‚ and Ron Gant.
  • 1998 - A state historical marker was dedicated outside TRS to honor the first World Series, with games 4-7 played at Exposition Park between the Pittsburgh Pirates and Boston Americans in 1903.
First World Series (photo Brian Merzbach/Ballpark Review)
  • 1999 - The Pirate “Team of the Century,” voted on by fans, was announced. The winners were: C Jason Kendall, 1B Willie Stargell, 2B Bill Mazeroski, SS Honus Wagner, 3B Pie Traynor, LF Ralph Kiner, CF Lloyd Waner (barely over Andy Van Slyke), RF Roberto Clemente (leaving Paul Waner off the club), LHP Harvey Haddix (his perfect game eliminated the Pirates’ winningest pitcher, Wilbur Cooper), RHP Vern Law, RP Kent Tekulve (in a close race with ElRoy Face) and MGR Danny Murtaugh.

No comments: