Monday, August 10, 2015

Travel Day Notes; Cutch POTW; Vanimal Back; Assorted Stat Lines...

A hodge-podge of happenings whilst the Buccos are off to St. Louis...

  • Cutch was named the NL Player of the Week for 8/3-9 after slashing 563/.652/1.063 with eight RBI and seven runs scored last week.
  • If you're wondering what the new Bucs have done to date in a very tiny sample size:
    A-Ram (52 PA, .216/.231/.275);
    Travis Ishikawa (44 PA, .205/.295/.359);
    Michael Morse (8 PA, .250/.250/.250);
    Joakim Soria (4-2/3 IP, 0-0-1/0.00 ERA);
    Joe Blanton (1-0, 5 IP/1.80 ERA);
    JA Happ (0-1, 4-1/3 IP/8.31 ERA).
  • Vance Worley has decided to forego free agency and report to Indy. The Bucs plan to use him solely as a starter for the Tribe. He'll be back by September at latest.
Vance Worley is back in the fold. (photo: Rob Foldy/Getty)
  • How even are the Bucs and Cards? They've split 10 games this year, five going into extra innings, and St Louis holds the scoring edge 39-38. Home field has been the big difference maker. The Pirates are 5-2 at PNC Park; the Cards 3-0 at Busch.
  • Jung-Ho Kang got plunked and then homered in the Bucs big seventh inning last night. The last Pirate with a HR & HBP in the same inning was Kevin Elster on 5/8/97. Jung Ho wreaked his revenge on two different pitchers; Kevin did his damage against Jamey Wright, in reverse - he homered, then wore the baseball during an eight run fifth inning. 
  • The worm turns: Pirates have now won 8-of-10 vs the Dodgers in the last two seasons. From 2011-13, the Bucs won 5-of-21 vs LA, per @ESPNStatsInfo.
  • Battles of the Bullpens: Since June 26th, the Pirates have won 11 consecutive games that were decided by the bullpens (games in which neither team's starting pitcher was involved in the decision). That's the longest winning streak of its kind for any major-league team since the 2009 Yankees won 13 straight games in reliever-decided matches. It's the longest such streak for the Pirates since they won a franchise record 12 straight games that were decided by relievers in 1977. (from @EliasSports)

No comments: